The Queen’s Prize

You are hereHome > Marksmanship > National Rifle Association

The National Rifle Association was founded in 1859 and held its first annual rifle meeting at Wimbledon in 1860. Queen Victoria fired the inaugural shot at the first rifle meeting on 2 July 1860. The Queen further offered encouragement by founding an annual prize that Volunteers competed for in two stages; originally the first stage was fired at 300, 500 and 600 yards, and the second at 800, 900 and 1000 yards. Prize money was £250.

Brief biographies of the Queen’s Prize winners can be found within 19th Century Riflemen. For a study of the evolution of the Queen’s Prize during the time it was held at Wimbledon (illustrated with contemporary badges and medals), see Research Press Journal, Spring 2019.

Winners of Her Majesty The Queen’s Prize

1860Edward Charles RussellRossPrivate7th North York
1861Joseph MiddletonJoplingPrivateSouth Middlesex
1862StuartPixleySergeantVictoria Rifles
1863JamesRobertsSergeant12th Shropshire
1864JohnWyattPrivateLondon Rifle Brigade
1865JohnSharmanPrivate4th West York
1866AngusCameronPrivate6th Inverness
1867HenryLaneSergeant1st Gloucester (Bristol)
1868John BarhamCarslakeLieutenant5th Somerset
1869AngusCameronCorporal6th Inverness
1870WilliamHumphriesPrivate6th Surrey
1871Alfred PagetHumphryEnsignCambridge University Rifle Corps
1872WilliamMichieColour-Sergeant7th Middlesex (London Scottish)
1873ArchibaldMenziesSergeantQueen’s Edinburgh
1874William ChristopherAtkinsonPrivate1st Durham
1875GeorgePearseCaptain18th Devon
1876RobertPullmanSergeantSouth Middlesex
1877GeorgeJamiesonPrivate15th Lancashire
1878PeterRaePrivate11th Stirling
1879GeorgeTaylorCorporal47th Lancashire
1880AlexanderFergusonPrivate1st Argyle
1881ThomasBeckPrivate3rd Devon
1882AlexanderLawrenceSergeant1st Dumbarton
1883RobertMackayColour-Sergeant1st Sutherland
1884DavidGallantPrivate8th Middlesex
1885WalterBulmerSergeant2nd Lincoln
1886Charles HenryJacksonPrivate1st Lincoln
1887Reginald OlliverWarrenLieutenant1st Middlesex
1888George EdmonstonFultonPrivate13th Middlesex
1889DavidReidSergeant1st Lanark (Engineers)
1890HenryBatesSergeant1st Warkickshire
1891DavidDearPrivateQueen’s Edinburgh
1892JamesPollockMajor3rd Renfrewshire
1893William TDaviesSergeant1st V.B. Welsh Regiment
1894Malcolm StarkRenniePrivate3rd Lanark Rifles
1895Thomas HeywoodHayhurstPrivate13th Battalion Canadian Rifles
1896John LorimerThomsonLieutenantQueen’s Edinburgh
1897William ThomasWardPrivate1st V.B. Devon Regiment
1898DavidYatesLieutenant3rd Lanark Rifles
1899William ArthurPriaulxPrivateGuernsey Militia
1900William ThomasWardPrivate1st V.B. Devon Regiment